

"HARNESSTOM members meet in Brussels for the 1st project review meeting"

HARNESSTOM scientists, including the coordinator and workpackage leaders and IPs got together at the CSIC offices in Brussels on the 29th and 30th of June 2022. The meeting was organized in two days to discuss the progress made during the first 18 months of the project and included a pre-review meeting followed by the formal Review Meeting with the participation of two external reviewers: Prof. Francisco Pérez Alfocea from Center of Edaphology and Applied Biology of the Segura, Murcia, and Prof. Diego Rubiales from the Institute for Sustainable Agriculture of Cordoba Spain and the project officer from REA: Ms. Tatiana Tallarico.

The meeting was organized according to a consensuated two days program which included short presentations by coordinator and workpackage leaders followed by a dynamic Q & A section in which WP leaders responded to all the questions raised by them on the first day or by the reviewers and the officer on the second. Reviewers advised to pay particular attention to including additional members such as large supermarket representatives in the stakeholder group (SHG) as they oftentimes are leading the whole chain. Other issues such as guaranteeing the access to the HARNESSTOM gateway, concentrate efforts in developing a protocol to speed breeding based on growing plant conditions / treatment, and how to ensure durable resistance, etc. focused most of the debate. The whole meeting proceeded on an open and constructive environment that no doubt will result in a better more inclusive project that will respond to the demand of the different stakeholders.



Photograph of participants 1st HARNESSTOM review meeting at the CSIC offices in Brussels (29th and 30th of June 2022): *from left to right* Diego Rubiales, Francisco Pérez Alfocea, David Pierre, M^a José Asíns, David Gil, M^a José Díez, Antonio Monforte, Resu Burguet, Ivanka Tringovska, Stanislava Grozeva, Tatiana Tallarico, Mara Ercolano, Antonio Granell, Shai Koussevitzky, Mohamed Zouine, Clemence Plissonneau, Liron Shalom, Jaime Prohens, Giovanni Giuliano, Carlos Baixauli and Bai Yuling.

